.Rogue Wave’s New Album, New Label

Oakland foursome Rogue Wave will release its third studio album, Asleep at Heaven’s Gate, on Jack Johnson’s Brushfire Records on September 18. The twelve tracks were produced by Roger Moutenot (Yo La Tengo, Sleater Kinney), with help from singer/songwriter Zach Rogue, and feature guest appearances by John Vanderslice and Nada Surf’s Matthew Caws. Their publicist calls it “one of the most affecting and beguiling records of recent memory.”
The album comes at the end of a tumultuous period for the band — drummer Pat Spurgeon had a kidney transplant, keyboardist Gram Lebron lost his father, Rogue had a daughter, and the band welcomed a new bass player, Patrick Abernethy (formerly of Beulah). Asleep at Heaven’s Gate is the follow-up to 2005’s Descended Like Vultures, which was released by Sub Pop Records. Sub Pop also released the band’s first two highly-lauded albums. So the question is: will their new, “earth-friendly” label (home to Johnson, G. Love, Matt Costa, ALO, and Money Mark) have any effect on the band’s music? Indie status? Or who it’s marketed to? We predict MySpace ads very shortly …


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

East Bay Express E-edition East Bay Express E-edition