Thom Yorke

The Eraser

Just out now! Bunker music! Dig yourself a hole deep in the Earth, bring canned peas, and sleep through the Apocalypse. When you wake up, put on this collection of wispy Yorke-ian vocals, subdued piano, computer bleeps and bloops, and a little guitar thrown in. Yorke will sound like a fellow bomb-shelter resident trying to pass the time alone. The word “minimal” doesn’t do this solo album justice. It’s as barren as the Trinity, Nevada, test site on a snowy day, dotted by the rubble of atonal loops and fogged in by ghostly moaning. Song seven even mentions the bunkers by name! It’s happy stuff. But the dirge does break for song six, wherein Yorke commands us to peel all your layers off/I want to eat your artichoke heart. Tasty. Fans of Radiohead’s latest turn toward the digital will be rewarded with epic soundscapes taking you on a journey after repeated listens. Longtime haters will still want to slit their wrists from second one. Lastly, Yorke’s solo work finally delineates what the other members of the band bring to the mix. It’s like watching TV with only the blue pixels turned on. You still get the picture, but you miss all the hues. New Radiohead in ’07.

Previous articleDealing In Death
Next articleSlow Wave
Support the East Bay Express, local news, donate

Newsletter sign-up

eLert sign-up

clear sky
61 ° F
66 °
57.2 °
77 %
1 %
75 °
68 °
65 °
62 °
67 °