Land of Talk

Some Are Lakes

Land of Talk’s highly lauded 2006 EP Applause Cheer Boo Hiss was one of those rare, immediately likable discs, brimming with raucous urgency and a stripped-down style that harked back to an earlier era (the ’90s) of less complicated indie rock. So while it’s initially disappointing that the Montreal trio’s debut full-length Some Are Lakes lacks that immediate jolt of excellence, as with many things, deeper listening reveals a far more nuanced and moody effort, full of heartbreak, lament, and some late-autumn rockers.

The band — singer-guitarist Elizabeth Powell, bassist Chris McCarron, and drummer Andrew Barr — doesn’t stray too far from its no-nonsense aesthetic, but chooses to toy with the sound of its instruments (the disintegrated, wind-chime-like guitar of “Give Me Back My Heart Attack”), minor-chord progressions (“Dark Shuffle”), and Clinic-like surf noise (“Corner Phone”) to mix things up. There are still moments of instant gratification, such as opener “Yuppy Flu,” a delirious mid-tempo rocker, and the grungy Neil Young-ish riffs of “Death by Fire.” But it’s Powell’s breathy vocals — its tempered cadence intoning a certain weariness and vulnerability; her lyrics exacting emotion as pure as a diary entry — that really magnetize the listener. Now even if I could get you back I don’t try/you weren’t all that good but I loved you like you were mine, she declares in “Got a Call.” The highlight of the record turns out to be the contemplative “It’s Okay,” a lonesome tune you might find yourself unraveling to at the end of a long night, at the end of an equally long bar, hopelessly trying to forget a lost love.

Which reminds us: change is never easy to accept, neither is going to emotional nether regions we’d rather forget existed. Somehow, Powell and co. leads us there, and it’s okay. (Saddle Creek)

Support the East Bay Express, local news, donate

Newsletter sign-up

eLert sign-up

few clouds
56.8 ° F
62 °
51 °
59 %
20 %
60 °
60 °
59 °
56 °
53 °