Depeche Mode

The Best of, Volume One

It seems as if Depeche Mode has already released numerous greatest hits collections, but formally this is the first of its kind. Perhaps it feels that way because Depeche Mode albums play like they’re already greatest hits. The Best Of spans the group’s 25-year career with eighteen tracks taken from more than ten albums, plus a bonus DVD with 23 videos and an electronic press kit. The compilation careens all over the place, starting in the late ’80s and early ’90s (“Personal Jesus”) then speeding backward to the very early ’80s (“Just Can’t Get Enough”), then jumping forward to the late ’90s (“It’s No Good”). This choice proves Depeche Mode’s creations bridge time and space, especially when you realize mixing older tracks doesn’t make them sound dated, nor does it detract from newer ones, particularly for those of us who may have important memories attached to the earlier compositions. If anything, Best Of gives us a sense of security knowing that Depeche Mode will probably continue to reliably release material that will be “great,” particularly if “Martyr,” the one fresh song (with the sassy swing), is any indication.


Newsletter sign-up

eLert sign-up

clear sky
47 ° F
49 °
45 °
86 %
0 %
59 °
59 °
55 °
53 °
52 °